feeding

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

Could someone tell me how much grass hay I should feed two heifers in the winter with limited pasture land? I have been told one quarter to half a bail and I do not want to over feed them. They are both pregnant and due in March. I am new to the cattle industry and need some adivse. Thank you

[email protected]

If it's average grass hay, all they will eat

dunmovin farms

> Could someone tell me how much
> grass hay I should feed two
> heifers in the winter with limited
> pasture land? I have been told one
> quarter to half a bail and I do
> not want to over feed them. They
> are both pregnant and due in
> March. I am new to the cattle
> industry and need some adivse.
> Thank you

> Half a bale sounds close, you could put out more they will eat what they need. You will notice if they are wanting more to eat, they will be out hunting for forage. We feed all of our cows/hefiers hay out of hay racks and hay feeders(eat what you want) and have never had any problems. One of the main problems feeding more may be the wasted hay they would leave. Hope this helped you out. Good luck.

[email protected]

>1/4 - 1/2 bale? Now are you talking about small squares, large squares, large rounds or what? Normally about 30 lbs per critter per day is a good place to start. If you don't want to feed free choice then start with what lppks right. If they clean it all up, give more the next day if they don't clean it give less. In colder weather they'll need more. Just give them all hey want without wasting more than is necessary. Could someone tell me how much
> grass hay I should feed two
> heifers in the winter with limited
> pasture land? I have been told one
> quarter to half a bail and I do
> not want to over feed them. They
> are both pregnant and due in
> March. I am new to the cattle
> industry and need some adivse.
> Thank you