Feeding Steers

Help Support CattleToday:

wvherefords

Reaction score
Howdy. I began feeding a few 13 month old steers grain on Nov 1st in preparation for butchering for my personal use (and for some friends and family). I began with more hay than grain and gradually increased them to where they are now getting 20 lbs of 14% protien grain per day (each) plus approx 5lbs of hay (each) per day. I feed 1/2 in the morning and 1/2 in the evening.

They just havn't seemed to grow out like I would have liked and at this point are only running approx 800lbs. They are hereford/shorthorn cross. I bought them at 450-500 lbs and they were on good pasture until Nov 1. I would have thought they'd have been a lot bigger by Nov 1...

I'm planning on taking them to the butcher at the end of january and wondered what some of you thought about that. I'm new to this (first time I've fed some out) and followed the advice of a few locals and the wise folks on this board. I think I just probably started them too early and would have to continue feeding them for another few months to reach the 1,100 lb range and I'm not willing to do that.

I'm assuming I'll just get a lot less packaged meat, but it will hypothetically be more tender because they are smaller/younger.

Any thoughts on this would be most appreciated...

thanks,

-Eric

To fatten them up you need to decrease the protien and increase the fat. Add more corn and less grain.

I have never fed out any cattle, just backgrounded, but, protein is what makes muscle, correct? Too much fat and they will just get fleshy, not meaty. I had a problem a few months ago with my replacement heifers...all gut and no butt, increased the protein and they are looking great. The feed lot down the road really pushes the corn and distillers, with just a sprinkle of ground hay. Perhaps your feed rep could advise you as to what type of ration is best, or a local feed lot operationcould give you some tips.