Feeding out a freezer steer.

Help Support CattleToday:

roujesky

Reaction score
I am a newb, so bear with me. I have a pasture with 4 heifers. I am thinking of buying a steer and slaughtering it this winter. Someone on the board mentioned just figure your desired slaughter weight and then back off 90 days and buy a steer at that weight. Does anyone know of a chart that shows growth rate for a steer? I realize that there are a lot of variables like breed, feed rate, etc... But just a rulie of thumb would get me close enough.

My second question is a bit more complicated. Say I bought a steer that I wanted to feed out for 90 days or so. How much feed do you give him a day. Also, I have one pasture and I am, God forbid, a weekend rancher. My land is 30 miles from my house., so I only get there once or twice a week. How can I feed out the steer and not also feed out my heifers? Is there a smart way to do this or does it require me to cross-fence and buy a creep feeder for the steer? Sounds hard and expensive...
thanx

roujesky":2su4m4cc said:
My second question is a bit more complicated. Say I bought a steer that I wanted to feed out for 90 days or so. How much feed do you give him a day.
Also, I have one pasture and I am, God forbid, a weekend rancher. My land is 30 miles from my house., so I only get there once or twice a week. How can I feed out the steer and not also feed out my heifers? Is there a smart way to do this or does it require me to cross-fence and buy a creep feeder for the steer? Sounds hard and expensive...
thanx