Feeding Light Calves

Help Support CattleToday:

TerraceRidge

Reaction score
I am new to cattle, but I have been doing a fair bit of research on rations. Right now I am looking at buying a few 250 lb. weaned calves from a local farmer to raise for freezer beef, and I would like to know everyone's input. Based on some nutrient requirement tables I have found, I am considering feeding the calves 2lbs of soybean meal and 3lbs of cracked corn per head per day with free choice hay/grazing. I would like to see at least 1.75 lbs/day ADG, but more would be better. Do you think that ration will meet my expectations?

I'm no good at figuring rations, but as the calves grow you will want to increase the grain percentage of their diet to keep them growing properly. You will need to rap them up fairly slowly to the 2% of their weight range and keep it at that percentage as they grow.

TerraceRidge":2bdpv21b said:
I am new to cattle, but I have been doing a fair bit of research on rations. Right now I am looking at buying a few 250 lb. weaned calves from a local farmer to raise for freezer beef, and I would like to know everyone's input. Based on some nutrient requirement tables I have found, I am considering feeding the calves 2lbs of soybean meal and 3lbs of cracked corn per head per day with free choice hay/grazing. I would like to see at least 1.75 lbs/day ADG, but more would be better. Do you think that ration will meet my expectations?
Make it 1 lb. soybean meal and 4 lbs. of corn along with plenty of roughage. Gonna be an extremely high energy grain ration so the roughage is critical. Maintaint he 1:4 ration but gradually increase total grain ration as calves grow.You may eventually get the 1.75 lbs./day gain once you get the grain ration increased.

TexasBred":pcc2172z said:
TerraceRidge":pcc2172z said: