Feeding Holsteins on self feeder for the first time

Help Support CattleToday:

WCBR1025

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am planning on purchasing a small group of weaned Holstein steers and feeding them to finish. I was planning on feeding them calf started in a self feeder in the beginning and slowly transitioning over to shelled corn with a protein source mixed in. They will be in a small lot and they would get a little hay each day to keep them fuller.

This is my first time putting cattle on a self feeder and would appreciate any pointers to keep this from becoming a train wreck.

Thanks in advance,
WCBR

Have you raised Holsteins before? Seem like right now with prices where they are you would have to have a lot of cheap feed to make any money on them.

Your plan will work just fine. It might be easier to transition to corn though if you bucket feed them until they are on your desired ration. Try to limit the hay to a pound a day, some people just bed them often and let them get enough roughage from eating that.

Have to agree with pricefarm. The self feeder in it's self is not the problem. However, you are looking at a holstein eating a good amount more feed compared to a beef animal for the weight gain. Due to the physiology of the body, breed influence, a dairy animal of any breed will eat a proportionately greater amount of feed in order to grow bone and size before putting on any significant amount of meat(muscle). Most all the farmers that have raised dairy beef here, meaning 90% raising holstein steers, are former dairy farmers or from dairy backgrounds. They understand the needs and growth of holsteins. I do not know any of them that have self feeders. Most are raised on a combination of silage, hay, and concentrates to supply needed vitamins and minerals for growth. Diets heavier in corn come along towards the end of the feeding period to the finishing.