Feeding Beef Cows over winter

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

I would like to hear some new thoughts on feeding my 50 beef cows over winter. I have been feeding hay for last 2 years, and I have not been pleased with the quality I have purchased. I have used a little corn, but dont know how to control it. When I feed in bunks larger healthy cows get more than small cows. I supplement with Pro lix and salt and mag blocks. How many lbs of corn do I give each cow? Is it different for corn gluten? I am feeding for 150 days, and am looking to do things right and save money. This is a new farm to me, and I am looking foward to cutting my own hay. I am in Ky.

I have been using liquid feed for the last two winters. The cows free feed when they want it. When I first started using it, they ate it up fast but now seem to eat from one to two pounds a day. My cows are breeding back much sooner now. The liquid feed contains about 32% protien.

Hope this helps ..