Feeding Baleage

Help Support CattleToday:

As others mentioned -- if the weather is cool (<50 degrees F) I've found baleage doesn't really "spoil". In the summer, it can dry out and cattle may lose interest.

Honestly, baleage that appears spoiled (poor wrap/unseen large hole) that I've put out as "bedding" gets eaten completely.

If fed in a bale feeder -- it can freeze solid (popsicle) and will need loader intervention to allow cattle to feed.

Yeah I have a wrapped bale that has been out for a little over a week. It's in a round bale feeder with a roof over it so rain/snow stays out for the most part. When I first put it out We had 30 degree days to start then a couple days in mid 50s and one or two in the 40s we will be back to right around freezing tomorrow. I did notice the wind dried out the top portion pretty good but if you dig in it's still wet. It doesn't seem spoiled or slimy the cows are still eating it…Just not sure as I've never used it before and I don't have enough cows to take care of a bale in under a week and a half. It wasn't a problem when the temps were 10 degrees or lower everyday but now that the weather is changing I've been a little concerned I don't want there to be any health problems from eating spoiled hay either. Appreciate all the help and advice you all have.
Thanks.

From what I've seen it takes a day or so of mild temps for an opened bale to start heating. It takes the better part of a week for it to really start decaying and molding to the point where you wouldn't want to feed it by itself or to cows that aren't already healthy.

As Jeanne says, they will sometimes step over the good stuff to eat the steaming pile of crap. We feed all of it, if the bale is really bad I will either unroll the whole thing in the pasture and let them pick through it (they'll get the good feed in the bunks as well) or slip it in the mixer a little at a time.