Feeding bailed corn stalks

Help Support CattleToday:

TexasBred":24ogpns5 said:
mridgecattleco":24ogpns5 said:
Can you inject liquid protien into the stalk bales?? I've heard of guys around hear doing it a few years ago but I've never fed em.
Grass hay is sometimes covered with poly, sealed off and then anhydrous ammonia pumped under the poly, allowed to stand several weeks and then fed. A lot of these corn stalks are alread sky high in nitrates so I'd be afraid to feed any of it as it is without a test, let alone treated with anything. Best thing is to just realize it's low quality roughage and supplement accordingly.

Injecting molasses is also done, but I have no experience with that. I have fed some cornstalks. It is a desperation measue. The nutrient vs weight means you can only haul short distances. Cows love to pick through the bales, but in the end they leave most of it. It is best net-wrapped, as the bales want to fall apart.
Cubes are much more nutrient dense. 5 lbs of corn/day is pretty cheap when you consider the calories in there. I spent a lot of money feeding the herd due to terrible local weather a couple of winters ago. I know nutrient density travels cheaper.
I'll justify my decision with this. When I was buying feed I had too many head for my resources and cows were cheap. I caught a break, and although I ended up selling some for cash flow later I got a good healthy rise in cow prices to help me out.
I don't think I would feed them at the price they are now. Better to be out from under that burden. Unless you think they will go "a lot" higher.

Molasses only makes it more palatable. Doesn't help with nutrient densities at all. A total waste of money. Corn is high energy, low protein. Cubes, high protein, medium energy. Bought some corn for the deer feeder today and had to give $10.20 a bag.. 8% protein....... 20% cubes were $8.75. Figure cubes will be $10 by Oct 1 but good cows may double in price in 18 months.

TexasBred":e2dq2nf9 said: