Feeding alfalfa

Help Support CattleToday:

tenacres

Reaction score
Had a discussion with a crop farmer yesterday about 3rd cutting alfalfa. He told us, you can feed this alfalfa to cattle all winter with no problems. I always thought, to prevent bloat, you should feed 50/50 alfalfa and grass hay. Wouldnt 3rd cutting be too rich to feed as a total feed?

you can feed them straight alalfa without any problems.id only feed 15lbs a day a head.due to the cost of alalfa.scott

Scott, I'm in Southern Idaho and we can get alfalfa pretty cheap. It grows well here and everyone has it. It's quite plentiful. Average price around here for alfalfa is $60-$70 a ton. He was offering us 10 ton of alfalfa for $500. Grass hay runs $45-$50 a ton.

I'm by no means a pro at raising cattle. But how can you feed alfalfa and it not cause bloat? I was under the impression you should never feed that as the sole feed during winter.

tenacres":23st45j0 said:
Scott, I'm in Southern Idaho and we can get alfalfa pretty cheap. It grows well here and everyone has it. It's quite plentiful. Average price around here for alfalfa is $60-$70 a ton. He was offering us 10 ton of alfalfa for $500. Grass hay runs $45-$50 a ton.

I'm by no means a pro at raising cattle. But how can you feed alfalfa and it not cause bloat? I was under the impression you should never feed that as the sole feed during winter.

We fed nothing but alfalfa for many years and never had a single problem with bloat. If they're adapted to it there doesn;t seem to be a problem.

dun

tenacres":b2t69rfg said:

Straight alfalfa in the winter?

Go for it - you will not likely have to give them anything else.

When you talk alfalfa and bloat, you are talking about the plant during the growth phase.

What you are feeding is dry and inert - no danger.

We do it all the time.

Bez'

Howdy,