Feeding alfalfa instead of grain

Help Support CattleToday:

lucky7chief

Reaction score
I am a cow/calf producer and am concerned with the rising costs of feed and fertilizer. I usually hand feed my cows a few pounds of feed mix daily from calving until 3 months. They also have access to good fescue pasture. I've read a lot of discussion about substituting grain for hay during droughts, but I'm considering the opposite. I have some fields on which I could raise alfalfa. I would hand feed it daily at about 5 pounds per head. Does this sound reasonable? Is there something else I should consider? I think the protein should be sufficient, but what about energy? I wouldn't mind raising more of my own feed. I'm still trying to figure out the costs of each.

Where are you located? Will you be able to get it harvested in good shape with regard to weather? Have you seen the price of alfalfa seed? Alfalfa won't be as cheap to produce as you might think, especially if you are inexperienced with it. Assuming you are successful at producing and harvesting the alfalfa, then yes, you could use it for your protein source. You would probably be better off selling it, if its good, and buying cheaper feed. We baled enough for my in-laws to feed their sheep. He sold probably 20,000 dollars worth of lambs, but the hay we baled was probably 15,000 of that. I just shake my head. Guess its all in what you want to do. Sheep make chickens look smart and I just don't like em.