Farmer or Rancher?

Help Support CattleToday:

Farmhand

Reaction score
Just curious. Do you consider yourself a farmer or a rancher? How would you define each?

Farmhand":3kxkx3un said:
Just curious. Do you consider yourself a farmer or a rancher? How would you define each?

Farmer

Ranchers can't get close to their animals!.... :lol:

Farmhand":1iwrq99j said:

Rancher

My dad always said a rancher was someone that utilized livestock themselves to harvest a crop/ or forage..rather than hauling the feed in to the cows..

My cows almost never see the homeplace ..or corrals ..we try and make them get as much of their own feed as possible..

How bout' a livestock engineer, I know I'm row crop challenged. The only thing we grow that some folks call farming is hay.... :lol:

depends on where i am at!!
here in az i think i am a farmer!!
when i am at my place in ok i think i am a rancher!

does that make me a farmcher?????? :D

Rancher. We don't farm anything but hay and to me that doesn't qualify somebody for being a farmer. It's funny how terminology changes. When I was growing up you would normally wouldn't call places that were less than one or two sections anything but farms – even if there weren't any crops on them. Now people call just about anything a ranch. Part of that would depend on the area you're in. But in this area the words have changed.

Craig-TX

I remember a new guy once at work who said he grew up on a ranch in Utah. I thought, 'I like this guy already', after a couple weeks I found out his dad's ranch was 5 acres and 2 horses. For some reason I felt betrayed and never cared for the guy much after that.

Well I guess it would depend on who you ask. I raise cattle, wheat, milo, soybeans, rice, hogs....etc. About the only thing I don't do much of is sleep.