F-1's?

Help Support CattleToday:

brahma_show_girl

Reaction score
We are thinking about taking some of our Brahman cows and breeding them to a Hereford bull in the next couple of years. After my show career is practically over. We want to keep the Tigerstripe F-1's I was wondering if we took the Tigerstripe heifers we get when we breed our Brahman's to the Hereford and bred them back to a Hereford wouldn't it eventually breed the Brahman influence out of there calves? I know a couple of people who take the Tigerstripe and breed them back to a Hereford. I think they are breeding the Brahman vigor out of there calves but I'm not a cattle expert. I'm just trying to learn as much about cattle as possible. So when I get out on my own I can be a successful rancher, vet, Extension Agent, or Ranch Manager. I was just wondering.

brahma_show_girl said:
We are thinking about taking some of our Brahman cows and breeding them to a Hereford bull in the next couple of years. After my show career is practically over. We want to keep the Tigerstripe F-1's I was wondering if we took the Tigerstripe heifers we get when we breed our Brahman's to the Hereford and bred them back to a Hereford wouldn't it eventually breed the Brahman influence out of there calves? I know a couple of people who take the Tigerstripe and breed them back to a Hereford. I think they are breeding the Brahman vigor out of there calves but I'm not a cattle expert. I'm just trying to learn as much about cattle as possible. So when I get out on my own I can be a successful rancher, vet, Extension Agent, or Ranch Manager. I was just wondering.[/quote........... :hat: you are maximizing the heterosis. with the third cross not necessarily breeding out the brahman influance but using it. but if your aint gonna keep the replacemant the best third cross is a outside source like a cont bull. my preferance is a simmental but charolais and others do great

brahma_show_girl":2004r0qd said: