EPD questions

Help Support CattleToday:

FFACOWGIRL

Reaction score
I am new to raising cattle and have two heifers. Thankfully I have many helpful cattle people willing to help me through my first 2 years.
I bought a Simmental heifer from a local farmer. When it came time to breed her(AI) her previous owner helped chose the bull. I was glad to have her help because she has this heifers mother and grandmother so she knew about them and has kept them in her herd.

My question is how to read the EPD charts and what do you look for when breeding heifers in terms of the numbers. I know calving ease and other traits are important but I have spent a lot of time looking at numbers and just don't understand how to read them. Positive? Negative? and such.

All help is appreciated.

Most breeds EPD'S are different. So what i would tell you might not be quite right for Simm's. Go to the breeds web site and dig around, most likely you can find a good explanation there.

Here's a link to the Angus site. Scroll down the page and you'll find an explanation of Angus EPDs. Every breed's EPDs are different because they're based on their data, but they work the same. To simplify it:

If you breed a cow to a bull with a birth weight EPD of 5, you would expect the calf to weigh five more pounds at birth than if you bred that same cow, under the same management, to a bull (of the same breed) with a BW EPD of 0. You'd expect her calf to weigh 20 more pounds at weaning if you bred her to a bull with a weaning weight EPD of 35 than if you bred her to a bull with a WW EPD of 15.

EPDs will never tell you what something will weigh; they just allow you to compare animals.

Link: http://www.angus.org/Nce/Definitions.aspx