Ellingson Angus Vs SAV

Help Support CattleToday:

mncowboy

Reaction score
Just curious for those that have used both Ellingson genetics and SAV genetics, and what the experiences have been with both. I realize both are related/family and each use similar livestock genetics but I also think their livestock have a look thats unique to each ranch. I've used SAV genetics when AI'ing but I don't have experience with Ellingson genetics. Thanks in advance.

I have no knowledge of Ellingson and for SAV I tend to stay away from all of their bulls because of extremely low marbling. I'm also very skeptical of whether or not their cattle would work in my program, they advertise 1000 lb weaning weights, which I don't know how to replicate in my environment.

I used Ellingson Top Shelf 5050 a couple years back. Bull calves were decent - good growth, stout. Only kept one heifer and she didn't milk real great as a first calf heifer, but kept herself in good condition. I don't put a lot of pressure on first calvers, but this year she needs to step it up on calf weaning weight or be gone.

I think you'll find most people go with one or the other. We've had good luck with the SAV cattle we've used, they feed and grade well despite what the EPDs say. Ellingson's are going to look better on paper, I just don't have any experience with their cowherd to have an educated opinion on their stuff.

I would agree with Jake but have no real firsthand experience. I have used a Ellingson herd sire in Powerpoint but he was not raised by them. Both programs pamper their cows more than I care to select seed stock from. Hoof trimming is not in the cards for me either.