• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

electric fence question

Busterz

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
182
Reaction score
0
Location
SW Kansas
I bought only of those electric fence testers that has volts and amps and I've been checking my fences with it. I lose amps and volts at corners where I have to tie the fence off then reconnect it.

How do you do these connections without losing power? Anything special? I've tried to go back and wrap the wires tighter and that helps a little but not much.
 

c farmer

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
270
Reaction score
0
Location
pa
You are going to lose power just wrapping the wires, you need to use crimps to connect wires.
 

dun

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
47,334
Reaction score
1
Location
MO Ozarks
How many turns are you using? I use nothing but wraps and don;t lose mcuh in a mile of fence with a dozen or more wrapped connections.
 

grannysoo

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,813
Reaction score
0
Location
The Briar Patch
I've had the same problem in the corners with the wraps. Seems that you can loose power, and the wire will rust where you wrap/bend it. Best solution I have found is a little emory cloth to get a good surface, and then a few wraps of electrical tape to keep the moisture out.

That shiny new meter really helps find the faults!
 

dun

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
47,334
Reaction score
1
Location
MO Ozarks
grannysoo":15wnezna said:
I've had the same problem in the corners with the wraps. Seems that you can loose power, and the wire will rust where you wrap/bend it. Best solution I have found is a little emory cloth to get a good surface, and then a few wraps of electrical tape to keep the moisture out.

That shiny new meter really helps find the faults!

What kind of wire are you wusing that rusts at the wraps? I have yet to have any rust but the oldest stuff is only about 15 years old.
 

ga. prime

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,856
Reaction score
0
Location
So. Cent. Ga.
:D Must be using some ancient, ancient wire if it's rusting. I use copper ground wire that I get from old light poles to make the crossover connections at corners. It wraps, bends, and twists much easier than the 12.5 gauge and is 100% conductive.
 

Busterz

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
182
Reaction score
0
Location
SW Kansas
I've got some of that. Thanks for the tip. I'll probably try it but I had heard you didn't want to mix metals???
 

dun

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
47,334
Reaction score
1
Location
MO Ozarks
I just went out and checked a spot that has 2 wraps to go under a fence. Same reading on the wire going to it as there is coming from it. Don;t under stand what's going on with yours. How much voltage are you reading on the fence.

Mixing wires can cause verdigris to develop and will eventually decrease conductivity.
 

ga. prime

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,856
Reaction score
0
Location
So. Cent. Ga.
dun":2hnxd0xr said:
I just went out and checked a spot that has 2 wraps to go under a fence. Same reading on the wire going to it as there is coming from it. Don;t under stand what's going on with yours. How much voltage are you reading on the fence.

Mixing wires can cause verdigris to develop and will eventually decrease conductivity.

Definition of verdigris (noun) a green patina that forms on copper or brass or bronze that has been exposed to the air or water for long periods of time

Good word, dun. I never had heard it before. I think it would take a lot of years before that became a factor in the electric fence application.
 

Texas PaPaw

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 12, 2005
Messages
1,247
Reaction score
0
Location
Central Texas
Voltage drop indicates increased resistance, so connections are likely a factor. Also anything that bleeds off current, such as grass/weed load or minor shorts beyond the corner will amplify the voltage drop at a weak connection. Am wondering if a more powerful charger would help your situation. Most voltage problems I have encountered on a pretty decent fence are due to not enough charger power combined with grass/weed load.

Most charger manufacturer (over)ratings (miles, acres,etc) are for a perfect fence in perfect conditions and I have never seen such a fence.

The Missouri grazing manual recommends 1 joule OUTPUT (approx. 1.5 J stored) per mile of fence. If you have a charger that has less than this much power it could be contributing to the situation. Just like more horsepower pulls a heavy load better, more joules will do the same for an electric fence.
 

dun

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
47,334
Reaction score
1
Location
MO Ozarks
ga. prime":7xxsyqtd said:
dun":7xxsyqtd said:
I just went out and checked a spot that has 2 wraps to go under a fence. Same reading on the wire going to it as there is coming from it. Don;t under stand what's going on with yours. How much voltage are you reading on the fence.

Mixing wires can cause verdigris to develop and will eventually decrease conductivity.

Definition of verdigris (noun) a green patina that forms on copper or brass or bronze that has been exposed to the air or water for long periods of time

Good word, dun. I never had heard it before. I think it would take a lot of years before that became a factor in the electric fence application.

Doesn;t take as long as you would think. There is also the oxidation that fomrs first that can cause problems.
 

ga. prime

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,856
Reaction score
0
Location
So. Cent. Ga.
I think you're right, it won't take long for the oxidation and verdigris to form. I just think the insulation effect against 6000 volts will be negligible.
 

Cowdirt

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
723
Reaction score
0
Location
Mid TN, USA
Galvanic corrosion occurs when two dissimiliar metals are together. To varying extent depending on which metals are involved.
 

ga. prime

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,856
Reaction score
0
Location
So. Cent. Ga.
How do the electric power companys get away with connecting galvanized line wire to the copper ground(ing) wire?
 

grannysoo

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,813
Reaction score
0
Location
The Briar Patch
dun":177nb90l said:
What kind of wire are you wusing that rusts at the wraps? I have yet to have any rust but the oldest stuff is only about 15 years old.

I've really got a sore a$$ about this wire. It's only around 5 years old and was bought from one of our local feed stores. I didn't notice at the time, but I'm now sure that it was made in China. The entire wire is rusting, not just at the wraps.

Keep in mind, this is our big local feed mill/store that sold me feed that didn't even have any corn in it. It seems that they have cut every corner in every location that they could find in order to make more money.

This is my "former" supplier. I'll never walk back in their doors again.

We have been replacing all of the rusty wire with wire from my new supplier as time and money permits. No problems out of the new wire thus far.
 

Latest posts

Top