Educate me on cubes and cake

Help Support CattleToday:

Bigfoot

Reaction score
1. I see many post on here about range cubes, and cake. Are they the same product? Noone I know feeds either, and as far as I know they are not available locally.

2. I see people that I have a lot of respect for their knowledge feed them. It seems to me there would be cheaper supplements. Is it an inexpensive supplement to winter hay?

Bigfoot":33b7uw95 said:
1. I see many post on here about range cubes, and cake. Are they the same product? Noone I know feeds either, and as far as I know they are not available locally.

2. I see people that I have a lot of respect for their knowledge feed them. It seems to me there would be cheaper supplements. Is it an inexpensive supplement to winter hay?

I do not know much about cubes and cakes but I buy range cubes from Southern States and give as a treat to my cattle. I could be wrong but I think cubes are just pelletized feeds. They call them range cubes but they are pellets is why I assume they are just pelletized feed.

bigfoot, I always wondered that myself the difference between cubes and cake. I never heard of "cake" until I got on here, most folks around here use cubes to feed with in the winter, or tubs, or liquid feed. Anyone for cake?

Cake has me puzzled never heard of that one. I guess I should educate myself more cause all I ever known growing up around cattle was keeping good grass and hay and using sweet feed. I fill my calf feeders up with southern states jumpstart and thats truly the only thing I feed thats pelletized and my minerals are in tubs.

I've never heard of "cake", but I just started using cubes this year. Range cubes are a type of feed that are cylindrical in shape and about 1/2" in diameter. Length varies depending if the tube gets broken. I feed a small area, so I take the 50# bag and walk along dry ground and pour the cubes on the ground. The cubes I buy are 20% All Natural and are $11.95 per 50# bag.