East Texas pasture help!

Help Support CattleToday:

WLKRTXRNGR

Reaction score
Just bought 80 acres near Crockett TX with about 30 acres of partially fenced pasture (the rest is timber). The pastures have not been tended to in several years. They appear to be mostly thigh high weeds, thorns and wild flower. I would hope to one day have horses and some cattle on my place (no rush). Just hoping for suggestions on how to start bringing the pasture back as I have ZERO experience and wouldn't even pretend to know what I'm doing or where to start! Soil appears sandy... Any suggestions, I'll buy the beers when I see you!?!?! I'm trying to post a pic but it appears this forum has the most complicated process I've ever seen for adding pics! :bang:

Thanks, any help appreciated!

Mike

10 Yrs Air Force
10 Yrs CV Surgery
1 Week Farming!

I would bush hog as much as possible.

For the timber, I would get a consultation on harvesting it, if there is any good mature timber.

I would buy a professional grade chainsaw and a 4 x 4 tractor and what I couldn't mow with the bush hog, I would cut/pile (the nonharvestable scrub type brushy stuff).

Just cutting down the weeds will give the grass more leadway to take over.

Thanks for the tip - we will mow the pastures and see what happens! We are going to leave the timber alone for now and concentrate on getting the 30 acres safe / healthy for some livestock. I really appreciate the advice...

Thanks,

Bush hog it or burn it this winter. Just remember when bush hogging you have no idea whats under that mess. Go slow it could get very expensive. On a farm I bought most of it went from pasture to crop. The stuff just keeps coming up mostly t post and very old plow coulters. About a truck load of post and 8 or 10 plow parts. Been very lucky to have not tore any thing up yet!

WLKRTXRNGR":2p2zs2fa said: