Drum Mower questions

Help Support CattleToday:

f150fatboy":3cby8c50 said:
I bought a used 6 footer off of craigslist and I've been pleased with it. Dun is right it is HEAVY but a lot easier on the wallet than a disc mower. Carter and Carter Machinery in Johnson City, TN sells them as well. One of my friends work there and puts them together, says he rarely gets one back for repairs.

I mentioned in another post that I have no experience with the drum mowers. I did buy one of their disc mowers years back. They needn't leave the lights on thinking this old boy's coming back.

fitz

fitz":2qlogpr0 said:
f150fatboy":2qlogpr0 said:
I bought a used 6 footer off of craigslist and I've been pleased with it. Dun is right it is HEAVY but a lot easier on the wallet than a disc mower. Carter and Carter Machinery in Johnson City, TN sells them as well. One of my friends work there and puts them together, says he rarely gets one back for repairs.

I mentioned in another post that I have no experience with the drum mowers. I did buy one of their disc mowers years back. They needn't leave the lights on thinking this old boy's coming back.

fitz

I bought my vermeer roller from them. What kind of problem did you have with them ?

This is a tough decision, I trust everybody, that says they've loved theirs, and had good service out of it. I also trust everyone's opinion that says theirs was junk. Not sure what I'll do.

I could see, an off brand disc mower giving trouble, but every drum mower is an off brand. Its not like Gehl, is going in to the drum mower business. It makes it even harder.

Go buy a Kuhn or Vermeer and be done with it. Bigfoot your son will need parts in 20 years and he will be able to find them for a good name brand cutter.

highgrit":293botji said:
Go buy a Kuhn or Vermeer and be done with it. Bigfoot your son will need parts in 20 years and he will be able to find them for a good name brand cutter.

Also very true