Don't know what I was thinking

Help Support CattleToday:

Jogeephus

Reaction score
I spent much of the day processing deer meat but had to go out and feed the girls. While I was at one place, I got a feeling I would finally get a shot at a nice trophy buck I've been hunting for two years. I slipped down to a stand overlooking a 12 acre food plot planted in clover. Got in the stand at 4:30 and began waiting. By 5:00, I had 8 does standing within 100 yards of me. Around 5:15 the does started looking to the west. At 5:30, he steps out and I must say he was dang impressive with a heavy rack with 10 good points on him. Rack was tall, at least 20" over his head but his spread was only about 16 inches inside. He stood there sniffing at the does then began following a few around. Began chasing one right towards me then she turned and headed south and he just stopped broadside and just looked around. The whole tiime I had him in my sights - but I didn't shoot. I kept thinking, I got cha but for some reason I didn't want to kill him. Figured we could use some more of those genes in our deer herd and besides, I think I would get more satisfaction seeing one of the kids that hunt our place get him. Knowing he was mine seemed enough at the time. But I still can't believe I let him walk. :shock:

Mahoney Pursley Ranch":1zy5m6bg said:
Takes a good man to let one like that walk on, good for you Jo.

Or maybe like a lot of us you're just gettin old and the killing just doesn't mean as much as it used to. No shame either way.

Jogeephus you must be more of a gentleman than my son and I were last weekend! We didn't let these two walk. The one on the right is a 5x6 and the other one is a
3x4.

Pim0004.jpg

As I was saying, "the one on the right ----