Do you have to shave their heads?

Help Support CattleToday:

steergirl#1

Reaction score
Hello, I am new here, but have stumbled upon it a few times looking for answers to questions I had. It has been very helpful since this is my first year showing anything.

I am showing a show steer this year and was wondering why/if you have to shave the hair on their head or poll. I like the hair on my show steers head and do not want to shave it off but if I have to I will. I have asked several people and they said all they knew was to shave it off and don't have a good sure answer for me. I have only seen show steers with shaved heads in the ring and none with any hair on their heads.

steergirl#1":30dbzizj said:
Hello, I am new here, but have stumbled upon it a few times looking for answers to questions I had. It has been very helpful since this is my first year showing anything.

I am showing a show steer this year and was wondering why/if you have to shave the hair on their head or poll. I like the hair on my show steers head and do not want to shave it off but if I have to I will. I have asked several people and they said all they knew was to shave it off and don't have a good sure answer for me. I have only seen show steers with shaved heads in the ring and none with any hair on their heads.

You don't HAVE to, but they usually look unkempt with long hair. What we sometimes do with the Horned Herefords is clip the hair short on their cheeks, under their chin & jaw, the dewlap and down through the brisket. The top of their necks beginning behind the poll is clipped short back to the point of their shoulder, tapering smoothly into the hair on the neck. The hair on the neck varies, long enough to blend smoothly into the shoulder, short enough to make it thick, assuming they have that much hair.