Do I need hay?

Help Support CattleToday:

tncattle

Reaction score
Here is the scenario:

Will be putting 4 steers and 3 bred cows (all Herefords) on 28 acre pasture March 13. The entire farm is 44 acres and has 6 horses on it all through the winter and they haven't needed any hay and there still looks to be plenty of stockpiled grass (but I'm no expert). When I put the steers & cows they will have the 28 acres to themselves and horses on the other 16 acres. For those in my general area (middle Tn.) do you think I should give them hay until the grass really takes off or should they be fine? The cows are due to calve in April. The cows are young (3 1/2 and 4 1/2 yrs. old). If it keeps staying warm the grass might be taking off by then, about 3 1/2 weeks.

Thanks

Feed the hay. They won't eat it if there is some better grazing in the pasture, and at least you know the bred ones will get plenty to eat.

upfrombottom":331866vv said:
Feed the hay. They won't eat it if there is some better grazing in the pasture, and at least you know the bred ones will get plenty to eat.

Ditto

Depends. I have seen pastures side by side that had different stocking rates. Only your eyes can see what the cattle have left to eat. I would at least stock some hay.
If they still have stockpiled forage then I would not feed hay. This time of year the stockpiled forage is pretty well worthless as far a protein is concerned. You may have to supplement (protein) some. Being Hereford does not automatically mean they can do OK. They have to be the right type. As long as you have stockpiled forage the cattle should be grazed on it without hay. Once you start feeding hay the cattle will stop eating the stockpiled forage. Come spring you will have to shred or burn it off.