difference red angus/angus

Help Support CattleToday:

glover36

Reaction score
i am wondering is there any substancial difference between black and red angus i no that red angus are meant for first calf heifers but r they the same size as black

I should let a professional answer this but I'm gonna anyway.

I lean toward the red angus. More thickness, more maternal and better carcass traits. But then again, I prefer the red color too.
Also more bone and a slightly bigger foot to carry the extra weight. They seem to do a little better on fescue too.
But like I said, I'm no professional. Just my opinions here.

From every animal I've interacted with, the main thing I've noticed that is different is the color.

(pauses for laughter to subside)

Honestly, they're about the same from my experiences. Sure, I prefer the reds to the regulars, and it seems to me that the reds tend to fill out faster, but the last one could just be different production practices.

Brace yourself for the technical answers. I'm sure they're a coming... :help: ;-)

I think reds were just a recesive gean showing up and then bred for. In America they are two seperate breeds as far as associations. I think it is a matter of opinion on which is better. I like the blk and if you will check out this same site you will see that the blk Angus is the breed that every year registers the most cattle.(of any purebred) So I would say they are the more popular of the two also. Nothing against reds. I don't really hear much about them. Have seen advertisements to cross them with Herefords. They are pretty.

Scotty

Scotty":1a5olv52 said: