dehorning 300lb. holsteins

Help Support CattleToday:

mtwheatley

Reaction score
I'm completely new at this so any help is appreciated.
I just purchased three holstein bulls two weeks ago. They are about 300 lbs. I banded them before putting them on the trailer to come home. I'm trying to figure out what to do about dehorning.

My plan is to run them back through the sale barn at 500-600 lbs. Their horms are about an inch long now. Would you mess with dehorning or not worry about it?

If you would dehorn, how would you do it considering the horns seem too big to burn at this point?

Have you done the banding technique? I tried it on goats a few years ago with mixed results and a stretched out balling period from what appeared to be pain for a while. Just curious. Have two Holstein heifers I'm raising for future nurse cows and noticed nubs starting to become noticeable. Have a hot iron dehorner but wasn't successful with it on goats so not sure what I'm gunna do. Can't find reliable times or what not to use it. Not sure if I didn't hold long enough or not.
To the OP if they aren't bothering anyone I'd probably just leave them since your going to flip them anyways. Personally I don't care for horns on my animals but if I picked them up and am going to resell them in a few months I don't know if I'd mess with it personally.
Ill probably have my two heifers done by the vet at Bangs vac time. Not sure yet.

Double R Ranch":6vi9spzy said:
Have you done the banding technique? I tried it on goats a few years ago with mixed results and a stretched out balling period from what appeared to be pain for a while. Just curious. Have two Holstein heifers I'm raising for future nurse cows and noticed nubs starting to become noticeable. Have a hot iron dehorner but wasn't successful with it on goats so not sure what I'm gunna do. Can't find reliable times or what not to use it. Not sure if I didn't hold long enough or not.