Daily Gain Rate

Help Support CattleToday:

gerardplauche

Reaction score
I have been feeding out a calves now for about 2 years. Mostly commercial "angus-type" steers and heifers. To date, my average rate of gain is 1.11 lbs/day. I am feeding mainly crushed corn and all the hay they can handle. There is also a 2 acre/cow ratio for grazing. Does this sound right? Seems the gain is little low to me. Any thoughts?

it is low. could you further explain...your general location, how old and at what weight are the calves when you start feeding them...how long are you feeding them...what do you use for your protein source...how much corn and protein are they getting...quality of hay...health and condition of calves...and anything else you think might be informational. are you including death loss, i.e. are you figuring total pounds of calves sold minus total pounds of calves that you start with divided by the days on feed (which might include death loss during the feedout period). with a little further explanation we should be able to figure out why you are only getting a 1.11 lb/day rate of gain. calves i feed out will typically average no less than 3.5 lbs/day gain, steers & heifers, while on full feed.

ROB

Gerald the corn is good energy but usually only around 8%. Seeing that you're in Louisiana that hay is probably no higher than 8% either so for one think you have a protein shortage. The hay is probably free choice but wonder about how much corn you're feeding. Some cottonseed meal added to it to bring your total ration protein up sure won't hurt you. How much corn do they get everyday?