Curbing Bad Behavior

Help Support CattleToday:

m_rachel17

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to the cattle world and will be showing my first market steer at fair in July. I purchased a family friends beef feeder about a month ago. This steer was raised an orphan after his mother left him to die. He seemed perfectly behaved until he got to my house. I go into the pen and he will threaten and push me into corners and attempt to "rub" his head on my legs. With him being the size he is, 700-750 lbs, this isn't as cute as it was when our friend was raising him as a calf. I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas or techniques that can be used to help curb this behavior? He is in a personal pen, is my only bovine, and gets out to run about every other day. Any and all advice is appreciated!

Just some thoughts here:
-He needs a pen mate. It will keep him happy, healthy, and teach him to be bovine and not human.
-He needs to learn respect. If he rubs on you, he has no sense of boundaries. A good thump on the nose may be all that's required to remind him.
-YOU need to avoid letting him get you into a corner...EVER! He may be playing now, but the one time he isn't and he gets you in a corner, you may end up dead. You need to think ahead of him and keep both his and your flight paths in mind at all times.
Aside from all that, you really should find a mentor that has at least a basic idea how to raise and grow a steer. Best of Luck!

Boot Jack gave you good advice. YOU must be the Alpha. He must respect you. A smack to the nose generally works best. Their nose is soft (for your sake) and is sensitive. This is a very dangerous behavior.