Crystal Lick

Help Support CattleToday:

madbeancounter1

Reaction score
Do any of you have any experience with this.

Partner has a buddy that raises cattle and told him that in winter he doesn't grain or feed hay. Nothing extra. Lets the cattle gets what's left in the pasture and puts out the Crystal Lick for protein.

Guess what I'd like to know is what it is and if it's complete enough to use that way.

Doesn't sound right to me but I'm still learning.

dont' know bout crystal lick, sounds like he starves his cattle though. got to have some kind of filler for them

trip":1cayfmee said:
dont' know bout crystal lick, sounds like he starves his cattle though. got to have some kind of filler for them
In my opinion, Crystalyx has about priced themselves out of the market. Yes it's a good product, but there are other "lick" tubs out there with the same benefit, but affordable. You have to still supplement your cattle with hay and salt. It's not meant to be fed as a sole ration. It is a Supplement.

I suppose it depends where you're at as to whether or not you can get away with not feeding hay. Wintertime here, and the grass is covered with two feet of snow in most areas, drifts deeper in others. My cattle and horses would starve to death if I didn't feed hay.

Back east you might not have to feed much, if any hay.

http://www.crystalyx.com