Critique these pics?

Help Support CattleToday:

tom4018

Dumb Old Farmer
Reaction score
Just wanted to hear what others have to say. I know improvements need to be done and trying to go that way.
Would you consider any of these worthy replacements?

MVC-005F-2.jpg

Oct. calf
MVC-021F.jpg

rear view
MVC-012F.jpg

her momma, her first calf
MVC-016F-4.jpg

Jan. calf
MVC-009F-1.jpg

her momma, about 9 years old and always breeds back good
MVC-014F-1.jpg

4 or 5 year old wish I had a good pic of calf, only my 2nd calf from her but she has done good so far

I'm no expert, but I like the black heifer. Shes long and she looks like she has some depth.

tom4018":3gpwp9bn said:
Just wanted to hear what others have to say. I know improvements need to be done and trying to go that way.

MVC-005F-2.jpg

Oct. calf
MVC-021F.jpg

rear view
MVC-012F.jpg

MVC-016F-4.jpg

Jan. calf
MVC-009F-1.jpg

MVC-014F-1.jpg

4 or 5 year old wish I had a good pic of calf, only my 2nd calf from her but she has done good so far

tom4018":2em7pfvs said:

MVC-005F-2.jpg

Oct. calf
MVC-021F.jpg

rear view
MVC-012F.jpg

MVC-016F-4.jpg

Jan. calf
MVC-009F-1.jpg

MVC-014F-1.jpg

The black heifer looks good, the balck and red baldy are fine. But the black heifer's mother look like she has mange on her hocks and front feet (or the pic was taking badly and im wrong)
The tan calf is ok but doenst have a toned muscled leg, her mama has her back pelvic bones sticking out, that can cause calving problems.

I like the black heifer in the first picture and her momma.
I also like the #41 cow and her baldie calf. Wish we had a
side view of the calf.

tom - Folks can nitpick your calves to death, I own much worse, and have made money with some of the ugliest cows you'll see. I've also found that every heifer goes thru a gangley stage at some point. The ones that look great at weaning sometimes make you wonder why they didn't get a one-way ticket a few months later, and then wind up making gorgeous cows.