Creep ration for young calves

Help Support CattleToday:

KNERSIE

Reaction score
Due to the drought I am considering creep feeding in order not to stunt very good genetics. The calves are about 6 weeks old right now.

Any suggestions on creep rations for calves this young? My cattle are not grained at all so calves aren't used to run up when they see me. I need a very palatable ration to get them started without risking digestive upsets in the young calves.

I have a little aflfalfa hay left, corn can be bought, but is expensive, no other small grains except wheat midlings is still to be found anywhere close. How should the corn ideally be processed for calves this young?

Any one with experience?

knersie-
although i have no personal experience feeding the grain - is mahangu grown in your area? i was thinking that it was as much a staple crop to Africa as corn is to the U.S. with the protein content it provides, and little expense required for production, i was thinking of trying it myself. i will definately be providing more of it next year for grazing - calves are doing excellent with the small patch i put out this year.

ROB

ROB":12te1730 said:
knersie-
although i have no personal experience feeding the grain - is mahangu grown in your area? i was thinking that it was as much a staple crop to Africa as corn is to the U.S. with the protein content it provides, and little expense required for production, i was thinking of trying it myself. i will definately be providing more of it next year for grazing - calves are doing excellent with the small patch i put out this year.

ROB
I never herd of Mahangu so I googled it up. Says it is the same as Pearl millet. Is this what you are talking about?

novatech":xicj3a2c said:
I never herd of Mahangu so I googled it up. Says it is the same as Pearl millet. Is this what you are talking about?