Cow wont get up

Help Support CattleToday:

wayannie

Reaction score
Hi I am new at this asking a question for a friend his cow is
in calf and at the moment she is down on all fours head up still eating drinking everything else is working ok
She just cant get up if she is rolled on to her side breathing is a little laboured and she cant raise her body at all ..
Apart from the fact this cow is down everthing else seems ok
but this is three days now Vet has given snake bite ,3 day sickness as possibility $500.00 later no answers any sugestions
Thankyou ann :?: :?:

Is she due to calve now? Just because you can't see the calf, doesn't mean she's not trying to calve.

3 Days is a long time. Have you tried to pick her up with a tractor or roll her over? Think about this - if you were to lay on your arm for 3 days, what would it feel like?

The longer she is down, the less her chances of getting up.

Have you thought about calling out a different vet?

If she is due soon, I would be digging up in there to see what you can feel. She may have calving paralysis. As the calf is there cutting off the nerves so she can't stand. Does she try to get up at all, as in the front legs work but not the rear end? You are going to have to try to stand her with the tractor and a sling or if her front legs work, that hip lock device can be used. (Can't remember what they call it, but you clamp it on the hooks, hook the chain to the loader and lift) The previous poster is correct, the longer she is down the less chance of recovery. I'd get the vet out again.

Thankyou for the replys.
No she hasnt been up at all .
He has informed me that she is due in about a week.

He has been moving her around to try get her mobile.
Rolling her over to move her legs out from under her
Will lift her with the tractor today see what happens.
He has tried a few vets in our area alas to many dog and cat doctors not enough Farm animal experence in our area!!!
Trying another today fingers crossed .