Cow losing weight

Help Support CattleToday:

hillbillycwo

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the cattle raising and have purchased 21 cows and 1 bull. I have them on an old farm in central Kentucky and they are being looked after by my very experienced brother-in-law. I was raised around cattle but not actually on the farm. I have always loved the life and have married into a farming family (19 years ago). My cows are being fed ample hay with 10 gallons of feed being given in ample feed bunks three or four times a week to keep them gentle and provide extra nutrition. The cows were placed on the farm in October of 09 and were a little thin. They were wormed with pour on and vacinated the same way my brother-in-law has done it successfully for years on the family farm. All cows but one are doing well. this one did well and gained her weight back but now is two months from calving and has begun to lose weight. She got up and came to the feed bunk and ate but has lost appetite for the hay. Water is readily available and is pure spring water from a source approx. 400 feet from the hay feeding spot. My cows are very docile and seem to not fight at the feed bunks or hay. As my cows are checked on a daily to every other day rotation I do not think she has slipped a calf, she does not present any evidence of metal and this is a relatively sudden occurance. If she is not better by Saturday we will take her to the vet or if she starts declining rapidly the vet will be summoned ricky tick. Any ideas? Lee

Hillbilly I think I'd do as you mentioned...take her to the vet....but don't wait til Saturday. Do it asap if at all possible. Best of luck to you.