cow-calf operation

Help Support CattleToday:

thank you for your kind and generous advises from all the board's members. i am a newbie and i am all ears for advises. I am humble to accept your generous inputs. I am glad that i was able to generate some excellent points. My plan in the next two years was to have 50 bred-cows and wanted to make sure that i have sufficient feed for winter from november to end of march. with 50 cows, i am looking around 4000 cut of two string bale hay (60-75lbs).

with two sections, i could easily generate 4000 cuts for my winter feeds. If i was short, i would easily get a second cut of 1/2 to 3/4 amount of the first cut on one section. I have irrigation pipes under each section and property is next to a large river(a year round). Still, i would be able to use the two sections(hay production with proper irrigation) for grazing.

Thank you for your sincere advise, Jeanne, i did not think about Johne's disease. I will ask my friend, the dairy man. if so, I would glad to use chicken manure.

I am very fortunate that we have a forum like this and humbly accept any inputs and advises. After practicing each day, i can't wait to see the cows in the pasture and seeing outdoor. thanks once again from the board's members. uscangus :clap: :)

just wanted to say hi usc angus,glad to here you are a dentist. I owned a dental lab for 42 yr.and retired and bought a small place we only have 6 1/2 ac. but we love it, we are beginner also to cattle .we only have 2 Herford cows that are bred and 1 angus bull. just can't wait until the calfs are born.
we only have the cow for a hobby.and i want to tell you i read alot about cows but this web site has been more help to me then anything../
I read some post almost every day. i dont post to often because i cant type very well. I am 70 yr old and my wife is 69yr yes it keep us active. but we love it. Glad to here from a dentist.,
and i want to thank all of the ones on this board for all of there help and info.