cow/calf operation vs stockers

Help Support CattleToday:

LWC

Reaction score
I'm trying to decide what kind of small cattle operation to start. I have some experience with cattle, but not a ton. I have 50 acres in the north TX area. I think I could run about 10 cows on this land. My question is would I be better off with 10 cows on year round basis, or just run something like 20 steers while I have grass?

I am going to use some very rough figures, but here goes. Cow/Calf operation: raise and sell 10ea 500lb calves at $500 each for roughly a $5,000 gross. Subract out expenses of say $2,000 for hay and medicine leaving approx $3,000 profit (not including initial purchase of cows).

Stocker operation: buy 20 steers at 400lbs for say $9,000 (in the spring). Run on grass until fall w/ approximately 250lb gain. Sell in the fall for $13,000. Gross $4,000 less $1,000 for medicine and supplements = $3,000 profit.

I know these figures are very rough. But, seems to me I could make as much or more profit off of running stockers and not have to worry about buying hay, feeding in winter, calving, etc... What are some of your thoughts? Thanks

LWC":16e4p9uq said:
I'm trying to decide what kind of small cattle operation to start. I have some experience with cattle, but not a ton.

I know these figures are very rough. But, seems to me I could make as much or more profit off of running stockers and not have to worry about buying hay, feeding in winter, calving, etc... What are some of your thoughts? Thanks

That would be my suggestion. Generally, overall, running stockers can be less labor-intensive than cow-calf. And as long as your 'stockers' are/remain healthy and you run them while you have grass and minerals and not need hay and any other type of feed, it will cost you less to run them.

Katherine

If you can run the steers a few years and stick back a little profit, you could use that money to buy some bred cows down the road if you decide to go that route.