Couple of Timed AI (TAI) questions

Help Support CattleToday:

tdarden3k

Reaction score
Doing some reading on the TAI process and I was wondering if any of you were using it and the success that you have had with it ?

Also with the TAI process when it comes time to AI are you seeing pretty much all of your cows in standing heat as you begin ?

Anyone use the TAI protocols and then manually detect and inseminate ?

One more thing .... I understand that MGA is a feed additive. How do you feed it to get the proper amount per animal or over a 14 day period do you just count on them to get enough of it. ?
Thanks

I have been using TAI for about 10 yrs. bear in mind I have a small herd so I and my mentor only AI about 12 to 15 a year, him a lot more. I use CIDR's, GnRH and Lute. I feel happy to have about a 60 to 70% successes rate. But on my size of a herd I have gotten a couple of pretty good clean up bulls, so for me, the herd has improved many fold over. As far as waiting until all is in standing heat, no, we hit them early in the morning but only run them through once and hope for the best, the clean up bull gets them in about 14 days. But if you have the time to watch and wait your success rate may be better.

Alan

Alan":u8qlnop1 said:
I have been using TAI for about 10 yrs. bear in mind I have a small herd so I and my mentor only AI about 12 to 15 a year, him a lot more. I use CIDR's, GnRH and Lute. I feel happy to have about a 60 to 70% successes rate. But on my size of a herd I have gotten a couple of pretty good clean up bulls, so for me, the herd has improved many fold over. As far as waiting until all is in standing heat, no, we hit them early in the morning but only run them through once and hope for the best, the clean up bull gets them in about 14 days. But if you have the time to watch and wait your success rate may be better.

Alan

Thanks Alan