Considering going cow-calf

Help Support CattleToday:

CoatsworthFarms

Reaction score
For years my family have bought cattle, usually 4-6 at a time. They are raised to finish and slaughtered to eat and to sell to friends. If you're in it just to eat your own beef it's fine, but it doesn't make any money because everything you get from the sale of the beef is lost to buy cattle for the next cycle.

Taking care of the cattle has been left to me over the last couple years and I'd like to try to make a little extra money from it.

I want to get about 6 heifers to start, but past that I have a million questions. Can I breed the same bull to the heifers every year or should I switch him up to get better results? And how do you go about exposing the bull to the heifer? Just run a heifer into his pen for awhile? How long? Will she get hurt?

This thread is going to go on for awhile, buckle up people. I'm a certified newbie.

:welcome: to Cattle Today! Now; read up on the subject right here on the boards, because if you believe that you can not make money selling beef private treaty, you sell too cheap or buy too expensive. And starting cow calf you need some experience and start with some bred cows, not heifers.

I second starting with bred cows. That way you don't have the cost of buying a bull, you don't have to feed him, and some are like teenage boys in that they like to get into things and tear things up. The risk you run is sometimes you don't know what the cow is bred to, especially from the sale barn. Now to answer your question, yes you can rebreed your cows with the same bull if it is a bull you are happy with. You just have to be sure to get rid of his offspring unless you want some SCREWED UP cows.

We also run a small cow/calf operation and we let the bull roam free with the cows. He knows what to do and when the cows go into heat, he will do it.