Conformation critique please

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
I am a newbie here, and actually an inexperienced rookie with any discussion board, so, please be patient with me.
A few years ago I bought two shorthorn heifers and started a small operation of
breeding for shorthorn show prospects. Just a hobby type plan for something to do and keep me busy when I retire. I have never been in any kind of livestock business, although, I have been around family and friends who breed and train sport horses and performance/speed horses. I learned a few things along the way, not to mention just a lover of animals. However, since I started my little herd, the most unanticipated lesson learned so far is that breeding and producing calves is a whole lot easier than marketing and selling them. I do not show so, I'm not in that loop, but I have made some very nice and helpful contacts. I started out with the purchase of one calf, an Asset daughter, and bred her to Fair Red White and Roan which produced a beautiful (yes, my prejudiced opinion) 93# heifer calf. It was a quick 30 min, observed, uncomplicated and unassisted delivery. Her weaning weight at 7mos was 700lbs. I had been posting her pics and descriptions on Face Book (even though I hate FB) offering for sale as suggested by some of my new friends and contacts who also passed the word around to their contacts. I had a few interested visitors, but no body ever committed to a deal. I also put the second calf in an online scholarship auction, no bids. I tried to contact the Ag teachers at the two area high schools, but never received any replies or even acknowledgements to my emails or phone messages. I thought that was just rude!