concrete pad/ water well

Help Support CattleToday:

denoginnizer

Reaction score
I am getting ready to make a small concrete pad around a new water well. I have never made a concrete pad . I was planning on building a wooden frame and mixing sack concrete in a wheelbarrow to make the pad. Do I need to use re-bar?

Any advice would be helpful as I am a rookie with concrete.

Thanks Ed

Are you talking about an actual well (dug or drilled) or a watering point for cattle?

dun

You have some options.

Not knowing the size of the pad, or the ground condition matters.

If you plan to pour a pad and then build a pump house on it - that is what it sounds like - make sure you have the grass and top soil removed from the area you plan to lay down the pad.

Then lay down about 4 - 6 inches of sand or gravel and level it. This sand or gravel pad should extend out from the planned concrete about 8 - 12 inches all the way around.

After this is done you can form the area using 2 x 4 or 2 x 6 depending on the thickness of the pad.

You can use re-bar or you can do what I have been starting to do here - use concrete with fibreglass in it.

If you do not have any real heaving problems with frost or soft ground conditions you might be able to get away with nothing - but I tend to over build a bit. I know roughly where you live and the weather does not really get cold, as compared to here :D - but you might consider the fibreglass as it does not require a lot of work as re-bar does. Fibreglass does the job of the rebar.

Hint - when you pour the pad, put a few bolts in the concrete along the planned outline of the building before it dries - that way you can anchor your building to them by using a few washers and some self locking nuts.

Have fun,

Bez?

Sacrete is expensive. You are buying dried sand and gravel in a sack with a very small portion of portland cement in it. It costs well over $130 a yard for concrete. The gravel is pea gravel size which reduces strength.