Coming in heat way early

Help Support CattleToday:

kid

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am still very new to farming. Last summer we got our first 2 highland heifers at 6 months of age. I was told that they shouldn't be bred until their 2 years old. Last week, they both came in heat. Is this normal? Their hardly one year old. Or do these cycles start before there ready to bred?
Can someone please give me a brief birds and bees story on cows. (When they can breed, how often they come in heat, how long that lasts...)
holy smokes, I dont understand human females, I'm having a heck of a time figuring this one out. :lol2:
Go easy, like I said, I am new to this.
Thanks

Yes, its normal.
Yes, they come into heat before they should be bred.
Typically cattle are bred for the first time betweem 15 and 18 months.
They will come into heat every 21 days.
Buy Storeys Guide to Raising Beef Cattle.
Good Book.

Maybe someone will add more to this, its 0413 ~ so I may be off.
Good luck!

angie":2zkerj71 said:
Yes, its normal.
Good Book.

Good luck!
Ditto to what Angie said.
Also somewhat dependent on breed and weight. Some breeds of cattle mature a little quicker than others. Not quite sure about Highlands, maybe one of our Highlands folks will jump on here and help you out.
Generally though, if you just wait until they are at least 15 months old, as Angie stated, you shouldn't have any trouble, provided they are bred to a suitable bull.

It should work out just about right in order for you to get some new calves next spring. You could breed them in June and have calves the following March. They would also be 16 months at breeding, should work out great!

The Highland breeders do not breed their heifers until they are 2 years old to calve as 3 year olds. I believe that is because they are so small and usually late maturing. But, I'm not a HL breeder.