Color question

Help Support CattleToday:

hillsdown

Reaction score
If an all black Purebred cow is bred to a homo blk purebred bull is there anyway that the resulting calf could have white on the belly ?

The blk cow always has blk calves every year, even when bred to a red bull, there is never any white on them.

Thanks.

I am not very good with genetics and that kind of thing, but I have had purebred Angus come out with a little white on the udder or back part of the belly. To my knowledge, this is accepted by the AA association as long as the white is not in front of the navel, above the stomach line, or on the legs.

What I am really wonderimg about LM is about the homo blk. I thought that meant that whatever you bred him to it would come out all blk unless the cow carried the diluter gene and then the calf would be maybe grey. :?

Help please randiliana.. :help:

LoveMoo11":1xcbk74s said:
I am not very good with genetics and that kind of thing, but I have had purebred Angus come out with a little white on the udder or back part of the belly. To my knowledge, this is accepted by the AA association as long as the white is not in front of the navel, above the stomach line, or on the legs.
im not very good at believing papers... i bred a homo black bull to red cows and never had a ounce of white all were solid coal black,,, and these were braford and simbrah cows

hillsdown":2nkg635s said:
If an all black Purebred cow is bred to a homo blk purebred bull is there anyway that the resulting calf could have white on the belly ?

The blk cow always has blk calves every year, even when bred to a red bull, there is never any white on them.

Thanks.