Clueless Outsider needs help for Paper

Help Support CattleToday:

ALK3BC4

Reaction score
Hello:

I am currently a student in the University Florida Graduate Tax Program, and I am writing a paper on Cattle Breeding Partnerships. Unfortunately, I am clueless about the economics relating to operating a cattle breeding business, and have been unable to find specific details. I read a few posts from a different thread on here that gave some facts and figures, so I'm hoping to get some responses on just the general basics regarding costs and potential income. I appreciate any help you may have with my questions.

1) On average, what can a quality calf, heifer, and heifer with calf sell for at auction? Also, is there a difference in prices paid in private contracts, and if so, what is the average price you typically see? (*If I'm not using the correct terminology for the various growth stages, feel free to correct me)

2) Is it recommended to purchase an initial herd with the different growth stages, so that some can begin producing income in the short-term while purchasing cheaper calves to develop into breeding heifers?

3) At what point to purchased cows begin producing income?

4) On average, what does it cost per year per calf and per heifer (or other growth stages) for all aspects of operations (labor, feed, land leases, etc.)?

Thank you all so much, and I look forward to any information or help you may have.

you're in a graduate program yet you want us to do your research?

I will give you the benefit of the doubt and assume your questions only cover a small part of your paper, but really...a few minutes perusing the site would pull up a fair amount of what you asked - one post a few posts below yours has the answers to several of your questions

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=60694

And of course some of what you ask varies by region, breed, and of course good old OPINION. Good luck.

edit strange URL