Choosing Embryo Recipient Cows/Heifers

Help Support CattleToday:

pcostx

Reaction score
I am interested in finding a couple of cows/heifers to be used as embryo recipients.

I am new to cattle, how does one go about choosing the best stock to be recipient cows? What age is ideal? Are there ages I should avoid? What about breed? Any that are best or worst?

Thank you!

Deirdre
Red Oak, TX

I have had 12 embryo calves in the last 16 months or so. The most fertile recips are heifers. The risk you have is that you don't know how they will do as mothers. I had to bottle feed a heifer out of a Holstein heifer recip. Personally, I would avoid fullbood Holstein heifers for sure. Cross bred dairy heifers are not as bad. I have used Brahma out of Holsteins and Brahmans out of Brown Swiss. (Brahman cross cows can have problems with their cervix which rules them out as recips because the tech can't pass the rod to implant the embryo). A lot of times breeders don't like calves out of first calf heifers. However, if you use a large frame recip and implant an embryo from a smaller breed you will get a really nice calf. I have heard that the ideal age for a recip is between 3 to 6 years of age. Believe it or not from my own personal experience you have a better window with embryo transfers than you have with A.I. The biggest thing you need to focus on is the experience of the person implanting the embryos. The more experience the better. Also, your recips need to be as fat as possible so do yourself a favor and wean the calves off if the recip has a calf. You also need to make sure that you inject the recips with Multimin before you implant the embryos. Depending on where you live your cows may be low on selenium and Multimin will fix that. Good Luck.