Cemetery Crews in Kentucky

Help Support CattleToday:

inyati13

Reaction score
Holding a position on a Cemetery Crew was a sacred and solemn honor where I was raised in Kentucky. When I graduated from college, my old summer job at the Harper Pig Farm was filled by Elsie Tolliver so I got a job on the Oakland Hills Cemetery crew. My dad was pleased. He always told us kids if he could afford a backhoe, he would quit farming and have his own cemetery crew.

The Oakland Hills Cemetery crew was a father and son operation. The father was Jigs Cordary. They called his son by the same name. So everyone called them Big Jigs and Little Jigs. But that was not right because they were both the same size. They got their names because when they were not burying someone, they were setting jig lines for catfish. They were almost identical. Both of them were big men with big bellies. They paid respect to their occupation by always coming to work in blue jeans and a clean white T-shirt every day. Their T-shirts showed everything from just above their belly-button to the top of their pubic area. They each wore a big belt with a brass buckle that was turned down due to their heavy guts. On the back of each buckle was the letters "JC". Big Jigs real name was Charles. Dad called him Chuckledee. I never knew the sons real name.