CED Lesson please

Help Support CattleToday:

mitch2

Reaction score
I don't have anything on my cattle currently. They are commercial herd. My cows are FS 5 to FS 6.
If FS relates to anything, the bull I have been using for 5 years is a FS 5.
The first year I had him, he bred all heifers.
I lost one calf that weighed 105 pounds, but it was a heck of a long calf from a heifer that is long as train. She would of had it no problem, but the legs were down, coming out nose first. Once we got the legs up, the calf slid right out.
I now have 6 heifers from this bull and I think I have found a bull to breed them to. These 6 heifers were born May 2009 (give or take a couple of weeks). If bred now they would be going on 28ish months old at calving in Sep 2011.

The young bull I want to purchase has a CED of -4.6; CEDtrs of +.2; BW of +5.6

Is this a train wreck?

Needing guidance! Thank you!
Michele

I don't want a birthweight of greater than +2 on a heifer. I would prefer no more than a +1. at +2 he had beter be smooth shouldered. 5.6, not me. I can't help you with the CED I pay attention to BW and the shape of the bull for heifers.

mitch2":3539exa7 said:
I don't have anything on my cattle currently. They are commercial herd. My cows are FS 5 to FS 6.
I lost one calf that weighed 105 pounds, but it was a heck of a long calf from a heifer that is long as train. She would of had it no problem, but the legs were down, coming out nose first. Once we got the legs up, the calf slid right out.
I now have 6 heifers from this bull and I think I have found a bull to breed them to. These 6 heifers were born May 2009 (give or take a couple of weeks). If bred now they would be going on 28ish months old at calving in Sep 2011.

Is this a train wreck?

Michele

What breed bull? If these numbers you're talking are black angus EPD's- yep I would call a CED of -4.6 and BW of +5.6 used on heifers heading for a trainwreck....

mitch2":1ws50jo0 said:

Is this a train wreck?

Michele