Cattle Working Systems

Help Support CattleToday:

barceranch

Reaction score
I need to purchase a working system for working cattle that I am planning on buying. I am just starting out and I'd appreciate any recommendations you all could offer me that you all satisfied with. Priefert sent me a catalog on their equipt. and I'm checking Powder River also. Are their others out there that you all use and are satisfied with? :?:

bar...,

Regardless of the system you decide on...for ease of handling and the animal..... consider including the animal immobolizer concept. It works great and is much safer for animal management.

http://www.igd-usa.com/immobilizer.htm

http://www.cattleimmobilizer.com/howworks.htm

I am sure there are other models...search 'em.

We use the RAU 2000 with a standard shute and head gate.... with excellent results.

We use Preifert and really like it. The one tyhing I would change is the sweep. They have one with the4 exit at the hinge end of the gate and that would make it much easier to get the cattle up through the working chute.

dun

Might look around in your area to see what you can get cheap. What I mean is alot of people around here use guardrail from hwy's that is "outdated" and bolt them up to 8ft steel pipes cemented into the ground. Do you want permenant? Use panels such as Powder River if you do want permenant. Depending on the country wood can be good or bad. In our part on the WA coast there is so much moisture even treated RR ties dont last but 10-20yrs, thats why are corrals are all cemented in the ground iron, hope this helps.

I made the alley out of RR ties and 2x12 oak boards for the sides. It's inside out of the weather. Would have been cheaper to buy a metal one but wood is quieter and this one will hold a 955 cat.

If I were buying one it would be a toss-up between priefert and for-most.

cfpinz