Cattle Prices

Help Support CattleToday:

coalcreekfarms10

Reaction score
I know this might be a stupid question to some people on this board but I'm going to ask it anyways. I'm pretty new to the cattle business and was hoping somebody could explain to me why prices were so high at this point last year and so much lower currently.

Supply and demand , commodities , futures, speculators or everybody and their brother jumped in cow business to get rich. Take your pick, I feel what we experienced in 14 and 15 is an anomaly. The markets fluctuate and you will get thousands of reasons why it was up and why it was down. but it all boils down to supply and demand. right now the supply is good mainly from foreign beef. The prices right now are still good compared to several years ago.

Lot of reasons but realize that '14 and '15 were record high prices. And a new record by a lot. Record high prices don't tend to stay at record highs..... well unless it is something I need to buy.

Dave":1k1z9913 said:
Lot of reasons but realize that '14 and '15 were record high prices. And a new record by a lot.
Record high prices don't tend to stay at record highs..... well unless it is something I need to buy.
Correct, markets always fluctuate they never stay the same and every time they set a new record high they either
have to go down or set another new record high.

The market hit a extreme high.
It was started by the drought in Texas which caused a large portion of the cow herd to go on ice there simply wasn't feed for them. This caused temporarily low prices as huge amounts of cattle went to slaughter.
When those cows were gone and it rained again. Every one wanted to restock at once.
Plus less cows= less calves higher demand.

The worm has turned. Cattle got to high and are crashing in price. Yet the price at the store remains the same. Flood of imported beef. And many cowmen including me retaining to many heifers. Supply is above demand

coalcreekfarms10":f002bw6m said: