Cattle Panels vs Oak board fencing

Help Support CattleToday:

skyhightree1

Reaction score
I am putting a 16x14 covered area on back of my 16x48 shed at my house in my calf pasture and want to fence in area of the same size 16x48 and wondered if I should use the cattle panels or oak board fencing as this area will be for bottle calves what do you suggest using? i was thinking if I used oak boards that the top board edge would be at 16 32 48 inches and boards 1x6x16 what do you all think?

dun":34wv11fx said:
Cattle panels, no maintenece and quick & easy repair

Thats what I was thinking. It also is cheaper than getting the oak boards milled too. The panels at tractor supply i think were 4' x 16' ...21.00 each I need to go to agri supply and see what the cost is there maybe they got a few bent ones i can get for half off lol How far should the posts be apart if I use the panels 8 feet same as with the oak boards? I have never used panels before. I also have a roll of hog wire left too should I just use that ?

I use 8 foot spacing with wood posts at the ends and T-posts in the middle. Something else that makes them handy is if you need to make smaller pens inside of it you can connect the panels with dogsnaps, one at the top and one at the bottom is usually enough but one in middle does make it a bit more rigid

dun":330kr1y3 said:
I use 8 foot spacing with wood posts at the ends and T-posts in the middle. Something else that makes them handy is if you need to make smaller pens inside of it you can connect the panels with dogsnaps, one at the top and one at the bottom is usually enough but one in middle does make it a bit more rigid

I like that idea :clap:

hopalong":1ygqruv5 said:
Panels,,,, much easier to move if you change your mind about the layout...
You got that right hopalong--even the heavier tube panels.
I'll never have a wooden pen again.