castration

Help Support CattleToday:

mikebowen

Reaction score
I'm new at this and was just wondering about how to cut calves? Slice the bag or cut a hole? Or what? Also what age or size should I do this to them?

We use the four fingured spreader and the green cheerios.
Make sure that you've got both of them in the bottom of the sack when you release the bander...and leave a little sack with the calf...check when you work the calves for signs of infection...we haven't had any problems but we always make sure. No muss, no fuss, no blood and a happier calf.
Dave Mc

mikebowen":213zkntc said:
I'm new at this and was just wondering about how to cut calves? Slice the bag or cut a hole? Or what? Also what age or size should I do this to them?

If you are wanting to cut them, people do it both ways. One of our vets cuts the whole bottom of the bag off, we cut slits. Age wise there is some debate. We cut early when I can hold them down, because our chute doesn't work real well for small calves. If we wait until later, I halter them in the stock trailer and push them into the side of the trailer with my knee under the belly. Some people delay with the idea that the extra testosterone increases muscling and growth.

It was not all that long ago we did nothing more here than put a ring on the scrotum just above the testicles.

We have switched to cutting and pulling - and are going to attempt a herd wide pinch this year - so we have kind of gone the whole circle.

Easiest method - get them fresh on the ground - dig around and get both testicles down in the scrotum and put a ring on the calf.

Next method - one I am starting to prefer due to what at least here seems like better weight gains is to cut them. Weight gains is what I am after.

I like to do it with the calf standing - and we do it at weaning - usually around 6 - 7 months of age.

"Milk" the various strands and fibres UP into the body and allow the testicles to drop on their own.