can you explain why you raise the cattle you do?

Help Support CattleToday:

fatcattle

Reaction score
Just wondering what the thought process of some producers is on selecting breed and type. I've been running stocker steers for the last 16 years so I have some definite preferences. I've run cattle from Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas, New Mexico, Texas, and of course Oklahoma. Every size from 250 to 750 at purchase. Mostly bulls. The leggier crosses and continentals made good money when feed and freight were cheap. Right now the moderate frame english calves are the only ones I can afford to run. They are higher to purchase and only receive a slight premium at sale time but inputs are so much less they turn a much better profit. They made more money when feed was cheap also. Not trying to start any fights, I really want to know why some cattle are bred. Just giving some background and telling what one of your customers has to say.

Climate.

You cannot change climate so try to use something that thrives in it. My overnight lows will be in the low 80's during the summer. It aint so much the heat of the day (cows can lay up in the shade) but warm nights that get cold climate cows dropping weight during the summer.

I will second the climate reasoning. My favorite cow for southern Ok are the Brangus baldy and the ultra black. I feel it gives me just enough ear to help with the heat but not so much that I can't nock the leather off with my favorite terminal cross which is the Charolais, and get a premium for pounds. A grey calf with a black nose is the best selling calf I have seen around here.

I a lot of the small guys around here raise the breed that they think works the best for them. And it always seems to be the breed they always have had. I think they talk themselves into liking what they have or what their dad liked. I you read enought suff you will find something thaty says your breed is the best.