Can Angus have horns?

Help Support CattleToday:

Lannie

Reaction score
Just wondering... I thought they were all polled, and any calf from at least one Angus parent would also be polled. Is that true? I'm not good at genetics, but is there a possibility of a polled Angus bull and a horned (not Angus) cow having a horned calf? My cow was Jersey/Hereford and had horns, but we always bred her to Angus bulls and I never had a calf with horns. Closest was one bull calf that developed scurs, but never had any with actual horns. I'm confused!

I should have read more first. I just found an old post asking the same question, and no, they don't have horns. Ever.

So what might LOOK like a polled black Angus bull but not really be a polled black Angus bull? Something that throws calves with horns? A RED calf, by the way. Not cocoa, but red.

It's not that important, but she's going to be my next milk cow. She'll have horns, but her beaus will all be Angus, so the calves will be polled, as is normal around here. I was just curious what her breeding might be. Her mama is a Jersey, and her daddy is a "black bull," LOL!

I've got a few with scurs..but mine or high percentage Angus, not purebreds...shouldn't have horns..

Here's a copy & paste of my response in a similar thread, from 2015:
Some of the early sires in the Angus herdbook...like 'Shah'(AAA 1158, born in 1872) and 'Hanton'(AAA 80, born 1852)...had scurs... which we now know means that they were hetero polled.
Look here: http://homepage.usask.ca/~schmutz/ScurredTable.html .
But, in the intervening 150 years... I suspect that the horn gene has been bred out of existence in the breed.... and suspect that an 'Angus' bull that was shown to have the horn gene, today, would probably have his registration papers pulled.