Can a 900 lb. heifer hold up a 2100 lb. bull?

Help Support CattleToday:

Some bulls are real gentlemen....

FYI...the comment that "he's a real bull in the bedroom" is not a compliment. The average bull only takes 3-5 seconds to get 'er done; od course he will do it again a few minutes later.

good to know. usually we have younger bulls that weigh from 1100 to 1500 that we can put with the younger cows but theyve all been sold this year.

I don't know. We have never tried it. It just don't make sense.

bc thats the only bull have have right now and i was curious if ppl thought the heifers could handle it or if i had to AI them. i figured the would be able to cuz theyll be 15 months old. but i dont know im still learning.

id love more input!

lmp570 I think she can but why take the risk?AI her the first go around she still got some growing to do.

rattler

This is going to depend on your bull. If he's a well balanced, good walking bull he can easily breed a 9 weight heifer with absolutely no danger to the heifer. If he's a clumsy sucker, AI the heifer.

Rod

DiamondSCattleCo":36rapmxf said:
This is going to depend on your bull. If he's a well balanced, good walking bull he can easily breed a 9 weight heifer with absolutely no danger to the heifer. If he's a clumsy sucker, AI the heifer.

Rod

agree 100% , age and weight play a secondary role to the bull's ability when breeding. Some are heavy breeders where they put a lot of weight on the heifer whilest others put very little weight on the heifer. Sound hindlegs is an absolute must in a bull used on heifers.

is a 900 lb. heifer strong enough to hold up a 2100 lb. bull long enough to get bred??

Absolutely. Have seen it done it hundreds, if not thousands of times.

Even with bulls up to 2400-2500 lbs.

MikeC":rxyh8o85 said:
is a 900 lb. heifer strong enough to hold up a 2100 lb. bull long enough to get bred??

Absolutely. Have seen it done it hundreds, if not thousands of times.