Calving: Syncronization or Spacing Out?

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

While I'm not a newbie I thought this beginner's board good for getting lot of imput. Comment: Lot of breeders and cattle people seem to prefer breeding/exposing within a "breeding season" (e.g., spring). True, this produces a "crop" of calves at the same time ready for market. On other hand, some like myself, want cattle in a variety of sizes and ages for our private treaty sales. With the exception of trying to breed when it's real hot or when it's real cold (assuming your operation is set up for successful "year-around" calving), the question is: "Are there any extremely significant reasons (otherwise) to have a "breeding season" vs. "continual breeding"? I'm not talking about making a few dollars and/or pounds extra by controlled season breeding. I AM talking about heifer/cow fertility, calving longevity, and/or other future significant potential problems with a herd by "breeding out of season."

[email protected]